## Evaluation of Danida supported Research on Agriculture and Natural Resource Management 2006-2011

## Annex L Summarised History of Burkinabè Institutions

The National Centre for Scientific and Technological Research (CNRST) is in charge of the coordination of scientific and technological research in Burkina Faso. CNRST is divided into five institutes, of which two are relevant to agriculture and natural resource management; namely the Institute of Environment and Agricultural Research of Burkina Faso (INERA) and the Research Institute of Applied Science and Technology (IRSAT).

- *INERA* is responsible for agricultural and environmental research through the implementation of agricultural research policies and the organisation, monitoring and management of agricultural research in Burkina Faso. Furthermore, INERA has a role in the dissemination of research results and the production and distribution of seeds and seedlings of improved crop varieties. The Danish Seed Health Centre has supported INERA since 1991 through the Capacity Enhancement Projects.
- *IRSAT* is responsible for development and implementation of scientific and technological research programmes in the areas of natural substances, energy, mechanisation and food technology on the processing and storage of agricultural, forestry and fisheries products and their adaptation to consumer demands. IRSAT has a role of dissemination of research results and promotion of new technologies.

The National Forest Seeds Centre in Burkina Faso (CNSF) is a public institution created in 1983 under the Ministry of Environment, with the aim to ensure the supply of tree seed producers of good quality needed for reforestation. Its main area of activities covers: a) Seed Production and Promotion, b) Applied Research and c) Extension & Training. The CNSF in Burkina Faso conducts applied research activities that contribute to a sustainable use of forest resources and aims to address the needs and priorities of users of seeds and seedlings. Danida Forest Seed Centre (DFSC) has supported the CNSF for decades, providing advice and guidance on seed procurement, tree improvement and conservation of forest genetic resources for tropical and subtropical developing countries.

The *University of Ouagadougou* is the main university in Burkina Faso. It is composed of seven education and research units (UFR) units, where Danish researchers have collaborated with two in particular; namely the Training and Research Unit in Life and Earth Sciences (UFR/SVT) and the Training and Research Unit in Human Science (UFR/SH). UFR/SVT is composed of four departments, the Department of Animal Biology and Physiology, the Department of Plant Biology and Physiology, the Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology and the Department of Geology. UFR/SH is composed of four departments, the Department of Geography, the Department of History and Archaeology, the Department of Philosophy and the Department of Sociology.