Annex 10 Members of the Africa Commission 2009

Mr. Lars Løkke Rasmussen, (Denmark). Prime Minister of Denmark, Chairman of the Africa Commission. Leader of the Liberal Party (Venstre). Mr. Løkke Rasmussen has also served as Minister of Finance and Minister for the Interior and Health.

H.E. Dr. Luísa Dias Diogo, (Mozambique), Prime Minister of the Republic of Mozambique since 2004. Prior to her nomination as the first female, Prime Minister of Mozambique Ms. Diogo served as Minister of Planning and Finance.

H.E. Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete (Tanzania), President of the United Republic of Tanzania since 2005 Member of Parliament since 1988, also serving as Deputy Minister for Energy and Minerals 1988-1990; Minister of Water, Energy and Minerals 1990-1994; Minister for Finance 1994-1995 and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation 1995-2005. In 2008 he was the Chairman of the African Union.

Dr. Mohamed Ibn Chambas (Ghana), President of the Economic Community, of West African States ECOWAS, Also served as Member of Parliament and Deputy Foreign Minister and Deputy Minister of Education in charge of Tertiary Education in Ghana.

Mr. Lauritz B. Holm-Nielsen (Denmark), Rector at Aarhus University since 2005, Prior to this Rector Holm-Nielsen served as Lead Higher, Education Specialist for the World Bank. In his earlier career Lauritz B. Holm-Nielsen was Rector of the Danish Research Academy and Chairman of the Nordic Academy for Advanced Study.

Dr. Mo Ibrahim (Sudan), Founder of Celtel and member of the board of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation. Dr. Ibrahim is also Founding Chairman of Satya Capital Ltd.

Dr. Asha-Rose Migiro (Tanzania), Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations. Has also served as Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation and as Minister for Community Development, Gender and Children in Tanzania.

Dr. Greg Mills (South Africa), Director of the Brenthurst Foundation. Prior to this Dr. Mills was National Director of the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA). A council member of RUSI, during 2008 he was seconded as strategic adviser to President Kagame of Rwanda. He has also taught at a number of institutions including the Universities of the Western Cape and Cape Town.

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala (Nigeria), Managing Director of the World Bank Has served as Nigerian Minister of Finance and Minister for Foreign Affairs. Prior to this Ms. Okonjo-Iweala was Vice-President and Corporate Secretary of the World Bank Group.

Mr. Klaus Aagaard Bustrup (Denmark), Chairman of the Board of Danida Member of the Danish Board for International Development Cooperation since 1990 and Chairman since 2008. Mr. Bustrup previously held the position as CEO of the Danish Council for Agriculture.

Mr. Robert Calderisi (Canada), Economic consultant and writer. Has served at the World Bank as Country Director for Central Africa, World Bank, Spokesman for Africa, Manager in the Institutional Change and Strategy Department and as Chief of the World Bank Regional Mission in Western Africa.

Dr. Christian Friis Bach (Denmark), International Director of DanChurchAid. Dr. Friis Bach is Affiliated Professor at the University of Copenhagen and has also worked as an independent adviser, author and lecturer and served as Associate Professor of International and Development Economics at the Royal Veterinary and Agricultural University.

Dr. Donald Kaberuka (Rwanda), President of the African Development Bank since 2005. Dr. Donald Kaberuka is the 7th President of the African Development Bank. He served as Rwanda's Finance and Economic Planning Minister from 1997 to 2005.

Ambassador Ellen Margrethe Løj (Denmark), Special Representative of the Secretary General of the UN in Liberia. Has also been Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Denmark to the United Nations and Representative of Denmark on the Security Council.

Ms. Betty Maina (Kenya), Executive Director of the Kenya Association of Manufacturers. Prior to this Ms Maina held the position as Chief Executive of the Institute of Economic Affairs. Ms. Maina has also worked as a consultant for the World Bank and the United Nations.

H.E. Jean Ping (Gabon), Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union. Has served as Minister for Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and la Francophonie of the Gabonese Republic and as Minister of Planning, Environment and Tourism.

Ms. Ulla Tørnæs (Denmark), Danish Minister for Development Cooperation. Member of the Danish Parliament since 1994. Prior to serving as Minister for Development Cooperation Ms. Tørnæs was Minister of Education.

Ambassador Koen Vervaeke (Belgium), European Union Special Representative and Head of the European Commission Delegation to the AU. During his diplomatic career Mr. Vervaeke has held a wide range of positions within the Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.