Skip to content

The Arctic

The Kingdom of Denmark is centrally located in the Arctic. The three parts of the Realm – Denmark, Greenland and the Faroe Islands – share a number of values and interests and all have a responsibility in and for the Arctic region. The Arctic makes up an essential part of the common cultural heritage, and is home to part of the Kingdom’s population.

The Kingdom and its populations have developed modern and sustainable societies based on democratic principles. The development has affected all sectors of society - from education, health and research to the environment, trade and shipping. At the same time, huge and sweeping changes are taking place today in the Arctic. Due to climate change and technological developments, vast economic potential is becoming more accessible.

With new opportunities come new challenges. The Arctic has to be managed internationally, based on international principles of law, to ensure a peaceful, secure and collaborative Arctic.

The Kingdom is already a vigorous and important actor in the strategically vital international cooperation on the future of the Arctic and in that connection attaches great importance to creating transparency in and understanding for cooperation.

In the Kingdom’s strategy for the Arctic 2011- 2020, the Governments of Greenland, the Faroes and Denmark have set out the most important opportunities and challenges. On that basis, we have defined our common political objectives for the Arctic.

We will – through close cooperation in the Kingdom and with our international partners - work towards the common overall goal of creating a peaceful, prosperous and sustainable future for the Arctic.

Read the Kingdom’s strategy for the Arctic 2011- 2020 here

The Governments of Greenland, the Faroes and Denmark are currently working on a new strategy for the Arctic for the period 2021-2030.


Kontoret for Arktis og Nordamerika (ANA)
Asiatisk Plads 2
DK-1448 København K

E-mail: [email protected]
Tlf: (+45) 33 92 00 00
Fax: (+45) 32 54 05 33